The shortlist for the Miles Franklin, Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, has been announced today at the State Library of NSW and it’s a list devoid of either of the two male authors that made the longlist: Brian Castro and former (double) Miles Franklin winner Tom Keneally.

The all-female shortlist includes several Stella Prize longlisted authors: Romy Ash, Michelle de Kretser, as well as Carrie Tiffany who took out the Stella Prize earlier this month. Tiffany is now in contention to win two major national literary awards for her novel Mateship with Birds.

It’s a list that also supports first time novelists, with over half the shortlist made up of debut works by Romy Ash, Annah Faulkner and Drusilla Modjeska.

The five shortlisted titles are:

Last year, the prize was won by Anna Funder for All That I Am.

The winner of the $60,000 prize (increased this year from the previous $50,000) will be revealed on June 19th 2013.

(Visited 11 times, 1 visits today)